Skip to Main Content

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

Humanities and Social Sciences Resources at HBKU

This guide is a compilation of Humanities and Social Sciences resources at Hamad Bin Khalifa University (HBKU) Library

ebooks icone-Book Collections about Humanities and Social Sciences Topics

The items are listed by type, electronic and print books. For additional items, use the search below, and limit your results to Book/eBook and/or Book Chapter.

e-Book Collections

Print Books at HBKU Library

Faculty Publications:

You may browse here the list of books authored by the faculty members at the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Arab Women in Arab News by Amal Al-Malki; Kira Dreher; Suguru Ishizaki; David Kaufer

Call Number: HQ1729.5 .A735 2012

When Arab women are portrayed in western media, they are typically veiled and voiceless, their words spoken for them in captions and voice-overs. But where do Arab women stand in current Arab news? Are the western stereotypes reinforced or countered? For the first time, this book provides systematic answers to these and other questions. Using empirical, text-mining and close reading techniques, it sheds light on a range of concepts through which Arab women can be canvassed, all couched in a lively and accessible exchange between leading experts on gender and human rights.

The Routledge Handbook on the Middle East Economy by Hassan Hakimian (Editor)

Call Number: HC415.15 .R68 2021

This Handbook captures the salient features of Middle Eastern economies and critically examines the public policy responses required to address the challenges and opportunities across the region. Bringing together wide-ranging perspectives from carefully selected and renowned subject specialists, the collection fills a gap in this relatively young and growing academic field. Combining discussion of theory and empirical evidence, the book maps out the evolution of Middle East economics as a field within area studies and applied development economics. Presented in six thematic sections, the book enables the reader to gain a comprehensive understanding of the region's main economic themes and issues: * Growth and development in comparative perspectives * Labour force and human development * Natural resources, resource curse and trade * Poverty, inequality and social policy * Institutions and transition to democracy * Corruption, conflict and refugees Providing an overview of the principal economic problems, policies and performances relating to the countries in the Middle East and North Africa region, this collection will be a key resource for upper-level undergraduates, graduates and scholars with an interest in Middle East economics, applied development economics, development studies and area studies.

Reform in the Middle East Oil Monarchies by Anoushirvan Ehteshami & Steven Wright

Call Number: DS326 .R44 2011

The oil rich monarchies of the Arabian Peninsula are frequently dismissed as having no democratic systems compared to most other regions of the world. Indeed, the United States justified its action in Iraq by proclaiming that democracy and freedom must be adopted, both in Iraq and throughout the wider Middle East, in order to counter the conditions which breed international terrorism. It has been argued that the countries of the Arabian Peninsula need to provide a system of democratic representation that fully takes into account their own history and culture. This raises many questions. Can their firmly established tradition of rule provide the basis for the evolution of an Arab form of constitutional monarchy? Should the West be seeking to encourage national indigenous evolution rather than working to impose Western systems? What are the risks of change and what has been achieved so far? Through articles by eminent academics and government officials, this book - now available inpaperback - addresses these issues and examines the drivers, progress, and challenges for future change in this vitally strategic area of the world.

Digital Authoritarianism in the Middle East by Marc Owen Jones

Call Number: JF1525.P8 J664 2022

You are being lied to by people who don't even exist.Digital deception is the new face of information warfare. Social media has been weaponised by states and commercial entities alike, as bots and trolls proliferate and users are left to navigate an infodemic of fake news and disinformation. In the Persian Gulf and the wider Middle East, whereauthoritarian regimes continue to innovate and adapt in the face of changing technology, online deception has reached new levels of audacity.From pro-Saudi entities that manipulate the tweets of the US president, to the activities of fake journalists and Western PR companies that whitewash human rights abuses, Marc Owen Jones' meticulous investigative research uncovers the full gamut of tactics used by Gulf regimes and their allies todeceive domestic and international audiences. In an age of global deception, this book charts the lengths bad actors will go to when seeking to impose their ideology and views on citizens around the world.

Medieval Muslim Philosophers and Intercultural Communication by Wisam Kh. Abdul-Jabbar

Call Number: LC1099 .A173 2023

This book examines the works of Medieval Muslim philosophers interested in intercultural encounters and how receptive Islam is to foreign thought, to serve as a dialogical model, grounded in intercultural communications, for Islamic and Arabic education. The philosophers studied in this project were instructors, tutors, or teachers, such as Al-Kindi, Al-Farabi, Al-Ghazali, and Averroes, whose philosophical contributions directly or indirectly advanced intercultural learning. The book describes and provides examples of how each of these philosophers engaged with intercultural encounters, and asks how their philosophies can contribute to infusing intercultural ethics and practices into curriculum theorizing. First, it explores selected works of medieval Muslim philosophers from an intercultural perspective to formulate a dialogical paradigm that informs and enriches Muslim education. Second, it frames intercultural education as a catalyst to guide Muslim communities' interactions and identity construction, encouraging flexibility, tolerance, deliberation, and plurality. Third, it bridges the gap between medieval tradition and modern thought by promoting interdisciplinary connections and redrawing intercultural boundaries outside disciplinary limits. This study demonstrates that the dialogical domain that guides intercultural contact becomes a curriculum-oriented structure with Al-Kindi, a tripartite pedagogical model with Al-Fārābī, a sojourner experience with Al-Ghazali, and a deliberative pedagogy of alternatives with Averroes. Therefore, the book speaks to readers interested in the potential of dialogue in education, intercultural communication, and Islamic thought research. Crucially bridging the gap between medieval tradition and modern thought by promoting interdisciplinary connections and redrawing intercultural boundaries outside disciplinary limits, it will speak to readers interested in the dialogue between education, intercultural communication, and Islamic thought. .

Copyright ©2025 All rights reserved to Hamad Bin Khalifa University.