e-Book Collections about Health & Life Sciences Topics
The items are listed by type, electronic and print books. For additional items, use the search below, and limit your results to Book/eBook and/or Book Chapter.
e-Book Collections
- Karger eBooks This link opens in a new window This collection of eBook series and non-serial publications covers all disciplines of human medicine. It provides full-text access to volumes of current and back titles published by Karger Medical and Scientific Publishers since 1997.
- ScienceDirect eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of e-books published by Elsevier covering a wide range of topics.
- NCBI Bookshelf Free health and medical books, articles, and more.
Print Books at HBKU Library
Faculty Publications:
You may browse here the list of books authored by the faculty members at the College of Health and Life Sciences.
by Paul Grimshaw; Michael Cole; Adrian Burden; Neil Fowler
Call Number: QP303 .G755 2019
This is the clearest and most straightforward biomechanics textbook currently available. By breaking down the challenging subject of sport and exercise biomechanics into short thematic sections, it enables students to grasp each topic quickly and easily, and provides lecturers with a flexible resource that they can use to support any introductory course on biomechanics. The book contains a wealth of useful features for teaching and learning, including clear definitions of key terms, lots of applied examples, guides to further reading, and revision questions with worked solutions. It has been significantly expanded to encompass rapidly developing areas, such as sports equipment design and modern optoelectronic motion analysis systems, and it includes a number of new sections that further develop the application of biomechanics in sports performance and injury prevention. A new companion website includes a test bank, downloadable illustrations and, where appropriate, suggestions for learning outcomes and/or lab-based sessions for lecturers. Instant Notes in Sport and Exercise Biomechanics has been an invaluable course companion for thousands of students and lecturers over the last decade. Engaging, direct, and now fully refreshed, it is the only biomechanics textbook you'll ever need.
Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals, Third Edition by Myer Kutz
Call Number: R856.15 .S73 2021
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Fully updated fundamental biomedical engineering principles and technologies This state-of-the-art resource offers unsurpassed coverage of fundamental concepts that enable advances in the field of biomedical engineering. Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals, Third Edition, contains all the information you need to improve efficacy and efficiency in problem solving, no matter how simple or complex the problem. Thoroughly revised by experts across the biomedical engineering discipline, this hands-on guide provides the foundational knowledge required for the development of innovative devices, techniques, and treatments. Coverage includes: Modeling of biomedical systems and heat transfer applications Physical and flow properties of blood Respiratory mechanics and gas exchange Respiratory muscles, human movement, and the musculoskeletal system Electromyography and muscle forces Biopolymers, biomedical composites, and bioceramics Cardiovascular, dental, and orthopedic biomaterials Tissue regeneration and regenerative medicine Bioelectricity, biomedical signal analysis, and biosensors Neural engineering and electrical stimulation of nervous systems Causes of medical device failure and FDA requirements Cardiovascular, respiratory, and artificial kidney devices Infrared and ultrasound imaging, MRIs, and nuclear medicine Imaging, laser Doppler, and fetal and optical monitoring Computer-integrated surgery and medical robotics Intelligent assistive technology and rehabilitators Artificial limbs, hip and knee replacement, and sensory augmentation Healthcare systems engineering and medical informatics Hospital information systems and computer-based patient records Sterile medical device package development
Recent Advances in Biomechanics
Call Number: QH513 .R43 2020
This book presents an understanding of biomechanics through chapters analyzing human behavior in sport from a medical perspective. It offers a comprehensive range of principles, methods, techniques, and tools to provide the reader with clear knowledge of the impact of biomechanic processes. The text considers physical, mechanical, and biomechanical aspects and is illustrated by different key application domains such as sports performance, sports science, ergonomy science, gait and human posture, and musculoskeletal disorders in medicine. The first three chapters provide useful tools for measuring, generating, simulating, and processing in biomechanics with the clinical and experimental applications in medicine. The last section describes the application of biomechanics in sport performance. Engineers, researchers, and students from biomedical engineering and health sciences, as well as industrial professionals, can profit from this compendium of knowledge on biomechanics applied to the human body.
Physics of Biological Membranes by Patricia Bassereau (Editor); Pierre Sens (Editor)
Call Number: QH601 .P45 2018
This book mainly focuses on key aspects of biomembranes that have emerged over the past 15 years. It covers static and dynamic descriptions, as well as modeling for membrane organization and shape at the local and global (at the cell level) scale. It also discusses several new developments in non-equilibrium aspects that have not yet been covered elsewhere. Biological membranes are the seat of interactions between cells and the rest of the world, and internally, they are at the core of complex dynamic reorganizations and chemical reactions. Despite the long tradition of membrane research in biophysics, the physics of cell membranes as well as of biomimetic or synthetic membranes is a rapidly developing field. Though successful books have already been published on this topic over the past decades, none include the most recent advances. Additionally, in this domain, the traditional distinction between biological and physical approaches tends to blur. This book gathers the most recent advances in this area, and will benefit biologists and physicists alike.
Theoretical biomechanics by Vaclav Klika
Call Number: QH513 .T446 2011
During last couple of years there has been an increasing recognition that problems arising in biology or related to medicine really need a multidisciplinary approach. For this reason some special branches of both applied theoretical physics and mathematics have recently emerged such as biomechanics, mechanobiology, mathematical biology, biothermodynamics. This first section of the book, General notes on biomechanics and mechanobiology, comprises from theoretical contributions to Biomechanics often providing hypothesis or rationale for a given phenomenon that experiment or clinical study cannot provide. It deals with mechanical properties of living cells and tissues, mechanobiology of fracture healing or evolution of locomotor trends in extinct terrestrial giants. The second section, Biomechanical modelling, is devoted to the rapidly growing field of biomechanical models and modelling approaches to improve our understanding about processes in human body. The last section called Locomotion and joint biomechanics is a collection of works on description and analysis of human locomotion, joint stability and acting forces.