Databases Covering Health & Life Sciences Topics
The databases are listed as specialized in health and life sciences and multidisciplinary that index some relevant sources.
- Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window The Biological Science Database provides access to full-text scholarly literature in all biological science fields covering conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
- Biology Database This link opens in a new window The Biology Database includes 410 titles with more than 360 available in full text. It covers a wide range of biology-related topics such as biological chemistry, biophysics, botany, cytology and histology, environmental studies, microbiology, microscopy,
- Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
- Dentistry & Oral Science Source This link opens in a new window Dentistry & Oral Science Source covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics.
- Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window The Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines. It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
- Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window Health & Medical Collection in PQ Central combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. It provides in-depth coverage from over 1,950 publications with ov
- Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window Health & Medicine has over 1,250 titles, with more than 1,120 medical titles in full text with abstracts and indexing from the well-known MEDLINE database. It also includes charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements.
- Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window This database is a collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
- Nature.com This link opens in a new window Nature is an online scientific journal that publishes peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology. QNL members have access to issues between January 2010 and December 2016.
- Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window Nursing & Allied Health Database in PQ Central provides users with reliable healthcare information in nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more.
- Patient Education Reference Center This link opens in a new window Patient Education Reference Center (PERC) features a comprehensive collection of current, evidence-based patient education information for clinicians, nurses and healthcare professionals. It includes customizable handouts that can be printed, and given to the patient at the point of care. Coverage includes more than 1,100 diseases and conditions, over 660 specific procedures and lab tests, nearly 2,000 lifestyle and wellness topics and more
- Pharma Collection This link opens in a new window Pharma Collection offers access to over 2,650 scholarly full text journals. It is a comprehensive database that covers not only medical, clinical, and scientific titles, but also other topics valuable to all pharmaceutical company employees.
- PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress This link opens in a new window Pilots provides access to citations and abstracts information of published literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Coverage is from 1871 to current.
- Psychology Database This link opens in a new window Psychology Database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles in full text.
- Public Health Database This link opens in a new window Public Health Database delivers core public health literature with access to over 750 publications, with over 520 in full text. It contains journals, newspaper articles, reports, trade publications, and more published in 1972 to present.
- PubMed (for HBKU Members) This link opens in a new windowAccessing Pubmed through this link offers HBKU members the possibility to access full-text directly from within the search results.
- Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source This link opens in a new window Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine Sourceis an essential reference database for rehabilitation clinicians. It offers full-text sports medicine and rehabilitation journals, books, trade publications and magazines. Topics include orthopedics, physiology, nutrition, sports exercise and physical therapy. More than 150 full-text peer-reviewed journals are available, the database is easily searchable, and information presented in a clear and concise manner
- Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window Rehabilitation Reference Center is updated weekly with the most current information available about speech, physical and occupational therapy. Content is created using a strict evidence-based methodology and protocol focused on systematic identification, evaluation and consolidation of practice-changing information. It includes nearly 800 clinical reviews and more than 3,000 relevant patient education topics in both English and Spanish
- ScienceDirect eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of e-books published by Elsevier covering a wide range of topics.
- ScienceDirect eJournals This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed technical, health and scientific journals spanning 24 major scientific disciplines to keep you connected to both historical and the most current research in your subject of expertise.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window SportDiscus contains full-text and citation information on sports and sports medicine research. It provides hundreds of full-text from sports medicine journals, and is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports. Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology.
- De Gruyter eBooks This link opens in a new window De Gruyter ebooks offers full-text access to a collection of more than 2,000 ebooks covering a wide variety of content in humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, medicine and more.
- De Gruyter Journals This link opens in a new window DeGruyter Journals offers access to the full texts of over 640 journals and yearbooks, covering a wide variety of content in humanities, medicine, the sciences, and law. Some journals have German language titles and include contributions in English and ot
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowTo access the books on this platform, you must create an account:
1- Click on Sign in on the top right corner
2- Click on "Create Account" and follow instructions
3- Log in with your new credentials - Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Emerald Insight includes journals and books relevant to a range of subject areas including accounting and finance, economics, management, marketing, education, information studies, engineering, sociology, and tourism and hospitality.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window The JSTOR archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The entire back runs of journals (from volume 1, issue 1) are provided with an embargo for the most recent 3 years.
- Oxford Handbooks Online - All Modules This link opens in a new window Oxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks areas across many different subject areas. One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford’s scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window The Oxford Reference provides access to Oxford Research Library Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East, Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic Philosophy, and Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt.
- Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
- ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window A vast aggregated full-text database, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. It serves as a central resource for researchers at all levels.
- SAGE Premier Journals This link opens in a new window This is an interdisciplinary database that provides full text articles from more than 645 journals in Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science. It allows users to search by title of journals or by subject. The database also offers perpetual access for all
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window This collection consists of over 45,000 full-text book titles covering Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Medicine, Built Environment, Science and technology, and Law.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window Taylor & Francis offers researchers many benefits including: A wide choice of high-quality journals maximizing your reach within and beyond your field and high visibility and discoverability of your work via Taylor & Francis Online
- University Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window This online database provides access to the full-text of over 10,000 academic ebooks in 20 subject areas, covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, Medicine and Law. It includes titles from Oxford University Press and partner presses.
- University Press Scholarship Online Cairo Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Cairo Scholarship Online provides full-text access to thousands of academic monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
- University Press Scholarship Online Fordham Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Fordham Scholarship Online contains thousands of academic monographs in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
- University Press Scholarship Online: Hong Kong Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Hong Kong Scholarship Online offers full-text access to thousands of academic monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
- University Press Scholarship Online: Kentucky Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Kentucky Scholarship Online offers full-text access to thousands of academic monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
- University Press Scholarship Online: Manchester Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Manchester Scholarship Online is an essential, online research resource, providing access to hundreds of fascinating works of scholarship in subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, and law.
- University Press Scholarship Online: Policy Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Policy Press Scholarship Online provides access to hundreds of scholarly titles from the Bristol University Press. This collection of high-quality academic monographs is an essential research resource for students and academics alike.
- University Press Scholarship Online: Stanford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Full range of Stanford University Presss award-winning publications in the humanities, social sciences, and law. Stanford's long-established presence in Literature, History, Jewish Studies, and Area Studies such as Asian Studies and Latin American studies are fully evident on Stanford Scholarship Online, as are the rapidly developing programs in Middle East Studies, Law, and Business.
- Wiley Online Library Books This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library Books provides full-text access to more than 18,000 scholarly and professional books, handbooks and dictionaries covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- Wiley Online Library Journals This link opens in a new window This online database hosts a multidisciplinary collection of full-text journal articles covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.