Book and e-Book Collections about Public Policy and Related Topics
The items are listed by type, electronic and print books. For additional items, use the search below, and limit your results to Book/eBook and/or Book Chapter.
e-Book Collections
- Elgar Online eBooks This link opens in a new window This online database offers full-text access to over 2,000 eBook titles covering law, economics, Islamic finance, business studies, public and social policy, energy policy and the environment. It includes reference books.
- Oxford Handbooks Online - All Modules This link opens in a new window Oxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks areas across many different subject areas. One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford’s scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.
- University Press Scholarship Online: Policy Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Policy Press Scholarship Online provides access to hundreds of scholarly titles from the Bristol University Press. This collection of high-quality academic monographs is an essential research resource for students and academics alike.
Print Books at HBKU Library
Faculty Publications:
You may browse here the list of books authored by the faculty members at the College of Public Policy.
Beyond policy analysis: public issue management in turbulent times by Leslie A. Pal
Call Number: JL86.P64 P35 2014
Authoritative and intrepid, Beyond Policy Analysis examines public policymaking in Canada with an eye to what lies beyond conventional categories and concepts. Author Leslie A. Pal explores the extent to which the world of policymaking has reacted to the increasing pressures of globalization, information technology, changing public values and cultural assumptions, citizen distrust, and decentralization and subsidiarity. His fifth edition keeps up with the hectic pace of ever-evolving governance and includes updated examples and statistical information. (HBKU Library-DCC)
Sustainable Qatar by Logan Cochrane, Reem Al-Hababi, editors
Call Number: HC415.37.Z9 E57 2023
This open access book provides a topical overview of the key sustainability issues in Qatar, focusing on environmental sustainability from a socio-political perspective. The transition to a sustainable Qatar requires engagement with diverse areas of social-political, human, and environmental development. On the environmental aspects, the contributors address climate change, food security, water reuse and desalination, energy, and biodiversity. The socio-political section examines state strategy and regulation, the place of environmental law and geopolitics and sustainability innovators and catalysts. The human section considers economics, sustainability education, the knowledge economy, and waste management. In doing so, the book demarcates the ways in which the country encounters and grapples with significant challenges and delves into the range of options for future pathways to sustainability in Qatar. Relevant to policymakers and scholars in energy and environment, urban and developmental studies, as well as the arenas of politics, climate change and policy, this book is a landmark collection on environmental policy in the Gulf and beyond.
The COVID-19 pandemic in the Middle East and North Africa: public policy responses by Anis Ben Brik (Editor)
Call Number: RA644.C67 C6827 2022
This book critically reflects on the responses to the COVID-19 pandemic in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) by exploring the impact and possible future outcomes in a region already struggling with the effects of a decade of uprisings, failed or difficult political transitions, state collapses, civil war and international conflict. International scholars offer a comprehensive treatment of today's major societal issues and provide a unique, broadly comparative view on public policy responses in the MENA region. Addressing the implications and public policy responses to the crisis they bring a critical perspective to the emerging challenges of evidence-based policy making; the locus of authority in transnational issues; the nature of governance, and the role of government and implications for civil society. Tackling the psychology, sociology, education, law, and public policy issues related to the social and economic implications of the COVID 19 pandemic, this book will be of interest to scholars and students alike
Who Matters at the World Bank? by Kim Moloney
Call Number: HG3881.5.W57 M65 2022
Who Matters at the World Bank explores "who matters" in a 32-year history (1980-2012) of policy change within the World Bank's public sector management and public sector governance agenda, and is anchored within the public administration discipline and its understanding of bureaucracy,bureaucratic politics, and stakeholder influences. In response to constructivist scholars' concerns about politics and the organizational culture of international civil servants within international organizations, Kim Moloney uses stakeholder theory and a bureaucratic politics approach to suggestthe normality of politics, policy debate, and policy evolution. The book also highlights how for 21 of those 32 years it was not external stakeholders but the international civil servants of the World Bank who most influenced, led, developed, and institutionalized this sector's agenda. In so doing,the book explains how one sector of the Bank's work rose, against the odds, from being included in just under 3% of approved projects in 1980 to 73% of all projects approved between 1991 and 2012.
Global Governance and Muslim Organizations by Leslie A. Pal (Editor); M. Evren Tok (Editor)
Call Number: JZ1318 .G55 2019
There are 1.6 billion Muslims in the world, represented on the world stage by 57 states, as well as a host of international organizations and associations. This book critically examines the engagement of these states in systems of global governance and with a variety of policy regimes, including climate change, energy, migration, humanitarian aid, international financial institutions, research and education. Chapters explore the dynamics of this engagement, the contributions to global order, the interests pursued and some of the contradictions and tensions within the Islamic world, and between that world and the 'West'. An in-depth perspective is provided about the traditional and new forms of multilateralism and the policy spaces formed which provide new opportunities for the Muslim and non-Muslim world alike.
Mobility and Transnationalism: travel patterns and identity among Palestinian-Canadians in Great Toronto area by Esmat Zaidan
Call Number: F1059.5.T689 P37 2012
The study explored the politics of mobility for Palestinian-Canadians, an understudied population in terms of transnational practices and issues of identity and hybridity. It also explored issues of citizenship and belonging using extensive interview data with Palestinian-Canadians in the GTA. Throughout the thesis the highly politicized aspect of mobility/immobility, national identity, and national autonomy in the Palestinian case was present. The research highlighted the continuing role of state actors in determining mobility and rights, despite the increasing rhetoric of borderless mobility. The study reveals that the majority of the Palestinian Canadians travel overseas regularly and their outbound travel patterns demonstrate a significant ethnic component. Palestinian Canadians travel to their country of birth as their dominant outbound travel destination for the purposes of visiting friends and relatives and maintaining social and cultural ties, indicating strong ties with homeland that have ethnic links. However, Palestinians holding Canadian citizenship have a higher propensity to travel overseas than permanent resident.