LibGuides: Public Policy Resources at HBKU: Databases

Databases Covering Public Policy and Related Topics

The databases are listed as specialized and multidisciplinary that index some relevant sources.

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window The Digital National Security Archive contains declassified United States government documents, including 38 collections consisting of meticulously indexed documents. It is compiled by top scholars and experts, and covers the most critical world events.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window EconLit with Full Text is the full-text counterpart to EconLit, the American Economic Association's index for economic literature. It contains many full-text journals that are unique to the database. It also contains many non-English full-text journals.
EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new window EIU Viewpoint provides global, regional and country-level analysis and data insights of over 200 countries and markets monitoring their political, policy and economic performances.
Elgar Online eBooks This link opens in a new window This online database offers full-text access to over 2,000 eBook titles covering law, economics, Islamic finance, business studies, public and social policy, energy policy and the environment. It includes reference books.
Elgar Online Journals This link opens in a new window This online database offers full-text access to journal articles covering law, economics, Islamic finance, business studies, public and social policy, energy policy and the environment.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Environment Complete is a full-text database for environmental studies. It provides more than 1,200 full-text journals, books, and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus with coverage dating to 1888.
Foreign Policy This link opens in a new window Foreign Policy was founded in 1970 with the intention of leading a root-and-branch rethink of how the United States engaged with other countries. Today, FP continues to explain Washington to the world and the world to Americans.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline is one of the premier sources for specialist legal, political and historical information. Mainly covering international and American content, it provides full-text access to legal journals, books, case law, treaties and other federal government documents.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window The PAIS Index database contains references to more than 625,800 journal articles, books, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, and more, in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window Public Affairs Index is a bibliographic database, covering main areas of public administration including public health, the environment, civil rights, and international commerce. It includes thousands of indexed journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents. The database provides access to more than 950,000 records and indexes 3,000 journals.
UK House of Commons Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window This collection offers full-text access to British government records in the form of the House of Commons Parliamentary sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. The collection covers the UK House of Commons Parl
University Press Scholarship Online: Policy Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Policy Press Scholarship Online provides access to hundreds of scholarly titles from the Bristol University Press. This collection of high-quality academic monographs is an essential research resource for students and academics alike.

De Gruyter eBooks This link opens in a new window De Gruyter ebooks offers full-text access to a collection of more than 2,000 ebooks covering a wide variety of content in humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, medicine and more.
De Gruyter Journals This link opens in a new window DeGruyter Journals offers access to the full texts of over 640 journals and yearbooks, covering a wide variety of content in humanities, medicine, the sciences, and law. Some journals have German language titles and include contributions in English and ot
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window The Digital National Security Archive contains declassified United States government documents, including 38 collections consisting of meticulously indexed documents. It is compiled by top scholars and experts, and covers the most critical world events.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
To access the books on this platform, you must create an account:
1- Click on Sign in on the top right corner
2- Click on "Create Account" and follow instructions
3- Log in with your new credentials
ProQuest Ebook Central provides scholarly ebooks in multiple subjects from world-renowned publishers.
Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window The Economist Intelligence Unit is the research and analysis division of the Economist Group, providing forecasting and advisory services through research and analysis, such as monthly country reports, five-year country economic forecasts, country risk service reports, and industry reports.
Elgar Online eBooks This link opens in a new window This online database offers full-text access to over 2,000 eBook titles covering law, economics, Islamic finance, business studies, public and social policy, energy policy and the environment. It includes reference books.
Elgar Online Journals This link opens in a new window This online database offers full-text access to journal articles covering law, economics, Islamic finance, business studies, public and social policy, energy policy and the environment.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Emerald Insight includes journals and books relevant to a range of subject areas including accounting and finance, economics, management, marketing, education, information studies, engineering, sociology, and tourism and hospitality.
Expert Briefings This link opens in a new window Expert Briefings are impartial and actionable responses to macro-economic and geopolitical events, prepared for global political and business leaders to help them understand the implications and influence decision-making. Delivered by Oxford Analytica using a unique combination of external experts and in-house analysts, we've partnered with this internationally-respected organization to give academics access to the same information global leaders have at their disposal to assist research and learning.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window The JSTOR archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The entire back runs of journals (from volume 1, issue 1) are provided with an embargo for the most recent 3 years.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS) is a bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly communication on the countries and people of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.This database contains more than 760,000 records. Over 16,000 records of recently published literature are added annually. Subject coverage includes Arts and humanities, Cultural heritage, Economic affairs, Business and industry, International relations, Political affairs and law and more. MECAS combines sources from these databases: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database.
Military Database This link opens in a new window Military Database in PQ Central covers topics across all government and military branches including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space fight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
Oxford Handbooks Online - All Modules This link opens in a new window Oxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks areas across many different subject areas. One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford’s scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window The Oxford Reference provides access to Oxford Research Library Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East, Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic Philosophy, and Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window A vast aggregated full-text database, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. It serves as a central resource for researchers at all levels.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window This collection consists of over 45,000 full-text book titles covering Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Medicine, Built Environment, Science and technology, and Law.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window Taylor & Francis offers researchers many benefits including: A wide choice of high-quality journals maximizing your reach within and beyond your field and high visibility and discoverability of your work via Taylor & Francis Online
Transnational Dispute Management This link opens in a new window TDM is a peer-review online journal publishing about various aspects of international arbitration with a special focus on investment arbitration. Since the first issue was published in 2004 it has gained popularity among a large number of law firms, academics and other professionals in the field of arbitration
University Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window This online database provides access to the full-text of over 10,000 academic ebooks in 20 subject areas, covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, Medicine and Law. It includes titles from Oxford University Press and partner presses.
University Press Scholarship Online Cairo Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Cairo Scholarship Online provides full-text access to thousands of academic monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
University Press Scholarship Online Fordham Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Fordham Scholarship Online contains thousands of academic monographs in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
University Press Scholarship Online: Hong Kong Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Hong Kong Scholarship Online offers full-text access to thousands of academic monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
University Press Scholarship Online: Kentucky Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Kentucky Scholarship Online offers full-text access to thousands of academic monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
University Press Scholarship Online: Manchester Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Manchester Scholarship Online is an essential, online research resource, providing access to hundreds of fascinating works of scholarship in subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, and law.
University Press Scholarship Online: Policy Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Policy Press Scholarship Online provides access to hundreds of scholarly titles from the Bristol University Press. This collection of high-quality academic monographs is an essential research resource for students and academics alike.
University Press Scholarship Online: Stanford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Full range of Stanford University Presss award-winning publications in the humanities, social sciences, and law. Stanford's long-established presence in Literature, History, Jewish Studies, and Area Studies such as Asian Studies and Latin American studies are fully evident on Stanford Scholarship Online, as are the rapidly developing programs in Middle East Studies, Law, and Business.
Vocational Studies Complete This link opens in a new window Vocational Studies Complete is a database designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges and vocational programs. Providing thousands of full-text journals and books, plus country reports and market research reports, it covers the most relevant subjects, including biotechnology, graphic arts, criminal justice and veterinary assisting. Access is provided to more than 2,000 full-text journals and more than 350 full-text books
Wiley Online Library Books This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library Books provides full-text access to more than 18,000 scholarly and professional books, handbooks and dictionaries covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Wiley Online Library Journals This link opens in a new window This online database hosts a multidisciplinary collection of full-text journal articles covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

For a list of databases providing legal sources of information, please refer to the Databases on the Law Resources at HBKU libguide.

Public Policy Resources at HBKU

Need help with your research?

Databases Covering Public Policy and Related Topics