Skip to Main Content

Search HBKU Library

This guide helps you search for and access information sources through HBKU Library

Articles

You may look for scholarly articles using the following portals:

Search

Using the Search portal, you may look for scholarly peer-reviewed articles.

Type your keywords and hit search.

Refine your results on the left by selecting Scholarly & Peer Reviewed and Articles under Content Type.

If you need recent articles, you may also limit the date range accordingly.

 

Access

Full Text Online = full text available to view online/download.

Citation Online = full text is not available (only the information about the resource is provided.) In that case, you may request the article via Document Delivery Services.

Databases

Databases compile and index articles from various resources and journals:

  • On the library homepage, click on Databases tab
  • Click on Browse All Databases
  • Select the relevant subject from the  "All Subjects" drop down menu, or choose "Multidisciplinary"  if your research involves multiple subjects/topics.
  • Click on the database of interest to access it.

 

Note: If you are accessing databases or other e-resources off-campus, it might redirect you to a proxy page requesting your HBKU credentials. Once you insert your active username and password, you will be able to access the database.

 

Citation Linker

If you have the citation but you need the Full Text of article, try the citation linker via the Journals portal by following these steps:

  • On the library homepage, click on Journals tab
  • Click on Browse all journals
  • Click on Citation Linker
  • Insert the information you have on the article (at least one of the following: Journal Title, ISSN, DOI or PMID) and search.
  • Follow the instructions on the screen to access the article (if available) or request it by DDS if not available.

 

Google Scholar

Link Google Scholar to HBKU Library to have a broader access to journal articles to which the library subscribes.

  1. On the top left corner of Google Scholar's homepage, click on the 3 lines
  2. Select “Settings”.
  3. In the Settings, click on “Library links”.
  4. Type “HBKU Library” and search.
  5. Tick the box next to “Hamad Bin Khalifa University – Full Text @ HBKU Library”
  6. Save and proceed with searching Google Scholar.

 

          

When an article is available in HBKU Library collection, you'd get a "Full Text @ HBKU Library" link that takes you directly to access the article.    

Copyright ©2024 All rights reserved to Hamad Bin Khalifa University.