e-Book Collections about Law and Related TopicsThe items are listed by type, electronic and print books. For additional items, use the search below, and limit your results to Book/eBook and/or Book Chapter.
You may browse here the list of books authored by the faculty members at the College of Law.
Call Number: K3830 .S75 2023
This book explores how State capitalism affects and reshapes international investment law. It sheds new light on the various ways States actively influence business and commercial activity globally by using sovereign investors such as state-owned enterprises and sovereign wealth funds or pension funds. With a diverse group of contributors from a broad range of countries, the book offers a fresh and timely look into the fundamentals of State capitalism, focusing in particular on its actors and processes, the contextual elements that surround it, and the new political economy that comes with it. The book is essential reading for researchers, regulators, policy makers, and practitioners interested in the different ways State capitalism challenges and changes international investment law. As geopolitical considerations increasingly affect global economic activity, delving into the intricacies of State capitalism has never been more timely.
Call Number: KQC304 .B87 2022
This important book provides a comprehensive analysis of good-fit and home-grown approaches for advancing business and human rights norms across Africa. It explores the latest developments in law, regulations, policies, and governance structures across the continent, focusing on key legal innovations in response to human rights impacts of business operations and activities. Featuring contributions from expert scholars and practitioners, the book provides a complete survey of the multifarious regulatory and institutional gaps that limit the coherent development and application of business and human rights law and practice at national and regional levels in Africa. Chapters discuss practical barriers to effective implementation, how such barriers could be addressed through innovative approaches, and the local contexts for the implementation of the United Nations Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights in Africa. Thematic sections offer conceptual and theoretical reflections on how African countries can effectively mainstream human rights standards and considerations into all aspects of development planning and decision-making. Business and Human Rights Law and Practice in Africawill be a key resource for academics, practitioners, policy makers and students in the fields of governance, human rights, corporate law and public international law, who are interested in responsible and rights-based business practices in Africa. The guidance and rules provided for integrating human rights into project design and implementation will also be useful for corporate bodies and financial institutions.
Call Number: KZ3225.B76 A37 2019
Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law has been shaping the study and application of international law for over 50 years. Serving as a single-volume introduction to the field as a whole, the book is one of the classic treatises on international law, now fully updated to order to take account of recent developments. It includes extensive references in order to provide a solid foundation for further research.Authored by James Crawford, the ninth edition further secures the work as the essential international law text for students and practitioners.NEW TO THIS EDITIONDecisions of the International Court (e.g. Whaling in the Antarctic; the Marshall Islands cases; Peru v Chile; Somalia v Kenya; Costa Rica v Nicaragua; Bolivia v Chile)Recent decisions on the law of the sea and the status of islands (Arctic Sunrise; Croatia/Slovenia; South China Sea; Bangladesh/India; Ghana/Ivory Coast; Timor Leste/Australia (Conciliation))Decisions of senior national courts in the US (e.g. Bank Markazi v Peterson; Daimler AG v Bauman; Jesner v Arab Bank; Kiobel v Royal Dutch Petroleum), the UK (e.g. Al-Saadoon v SSD; Belhaj v Straw; Freedom and Justice Party; Rahmatullah; Miller v Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union; Benkharbouche v Sudan), the Netherlands (Mothers of Srebrenica; Urgenda Foundation), the Russian Federation (Anchukov & Gladkov v Russia) and elsewhereRecent ILC work (including Conclusions on Identification of Customary International Law, and Subsequent Practice in relation to the Interpretation of Treaties)Plus discussion of developments in the fields of climate change, diplomatic asylum (the Assange stand-off), international criminal law and the ICC, immunities of senior state officials, investment arbitration, corporate social responsibility, and the use of force by and against non-state actors.This title is available as an eBook. Visit VitalSource for more information or to purchase.
Call Number: K1005 .O96 2009
Over the past 10 years, the content and application of international trade law has grown dramatically. The WTO created a binding dispute settlement process and in resolving disputes, the judicial organs of the WTO have built up a substantial amount of new international trade law. Emerging fromthis new WTO process is an international trade law system that is in some respects self-contained and in other respects overlapping and linked to other international legal, economic and political regimes. The 'boundaries' of trade law are now generating enormous interest and controversy which, at abroader level, is subsumed within the debate over globalisation.The detailed development of the rules of international trade is being examined with increasing frequency by scholars, government officials and trade law practitioners. But how does it fit with existing systems? How it is modified by them? How does the international trade law system affect andmodifiy other regimes?This Handbook places international trade law within its broader context, providing comment and critique on contemporary thinking on a range of questions both related specifically to the discipline of international trade law itself and to the outside face of international trade law and itsintersection with States and other aspects of the international system. It examines the economic and institutional context of the world trading system, its substantive law (including regional trade regimes) and the settlement of disputes. The final part of the book explores the wider framework ofthe world trading system, considering issues including the relationship of the WTO to civil society, the use of economic sanctions, state responsibility, and the regulation of multinational corporations.Oxford Handbooks offer authoritative and up-to-date surveys of original research in a particular subject area. Specially commissioned essays from leading figures in the discipline give critical examinations of the progress and direction of debates. Oxford Handbooks provide scholars and graduatestudents with compelling new perspectives upon a wide range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences.
Call Number: KBP144 .B55 2013
This book presents an invaluable contribution to the debate on the compatibility of Islam and modernity. It is full of arguments and examples showing how Islam can be understood in line with modern life, human rights, democracy, the rule of law, civil society and pluralism. The three authors come from different countries, represent different gender perspectives and have a Shia, a Sunni and a non-Muslim background respectively which makes the book a unique source of information and inspiration.' - Irmgard Marboe, University of Vienna, Austria This well-informed book explains, reflects on and analyzes Islamic law, not only in the classical legal tradition of Sharia, but also its modern, contemporary context. The book explores the role of Islamic law in secular Western nations and reflects on the legal system of Islam in its classical context as applied in its traditional homeland of the Middle East and also in South East Asia. Written by three leading scholars from three different backgrounds: a Muslim in the Sunni tradition, a Muslim in the Shia tradition, and a non-Muslim woman - the book is not only unique, but also enriched by differing insights into Islamic law. Sir William Blair provides the foreword to a book which acknowledges that Islam continues to play a vital role not just in the Middle East but across the wider world, the discussion on which the authors embark is a crucial one. The book starts with an analysis of the nature of Islamic law, its concepts, meaning and sources, as well as its development in different stages of Islamic history. This is followed by accounts of how Islamic law is being practised today. Key modern institutions are discussed, such as the parliament, judiciary, dar al-ifta, political parties, and other important organizations. It continues by analysing some key concepts in our modern times: nation-state, citizenship, ummah, dhimmah (recognition of the status of certain non-Muslims in Islamic states), and the rule of law. The book investigates how in recent times, more and more fatwas are issued collectively rather than emanating from an individual scholar. The authors then evaluate how Islamic law deals with family matters, economics, crime, property and alternative dispute resolution. Lastly, the book revisits certain contemporary issues of debate in Islamic law such as the burqa, halal food, riba (interest) and apostasy. Modern Perspectiveson Islamic Law will become a standard scholarly text on Islamic law. Its wide-ranging coverage will appeal to researchers and students of Islamic law, or Islamic studies in general. Legal practitioners will also be interested in the comparative aspects of Islamic law presented in this book. Contents: Foreword by The Honorable Sir William Blair Preface Prologue 1. The Nature of Law, and its Relationship with Religion, in Islam 2. Islamic Law and Institutions 3. Seeing a Western Nation through Muslim Eyes: Citizenship and the Sharia in Modern Nation-states 4. Fatwa and Muftis 5. Islamic Family Law 6. Mediation, Arbitration and Islamic Alternative Dispute Resolution 7. Islamic Law and Economics 8. Property Rights, Inheritance Law and Trusts (waqf) 9. Islamic Criminal Law 10. Contemporary Debates On and Within Islam Epilogue Index
Call Number: KF1262 .S66 2021
Buy a new version of this textbook and receive access to the Connected eBook on CasebookConnect, including: lifetime access to the online ebook with highlight, annotation, and search capabilities, plus an outline tool and other helpful resources. Connected eBooks provide what you need most to be successful in your law school classes. Learn more about Connected eBooks The Seventh Edition of Information Privacy Law has been revised to include the California Consumer Privacy Act, the GDPR, Carpenter, state biometric data laws, and many other new developments. A clear, comprehensive, and cutting-edge introduction to the field of information privacy law, Information Privacy Law contains the latest cases and materials exploring issues of emerging technology and information privacy, and the extensive background information and authorial guidance provide clear and concise introductions to various areas of law. New to the Seventh Edition: Additional Coverage or updates to: California Consumer Privacy Act Carpenter v. United States General Data Protection Regulation State biometric data laws New FTC enforcement actions, including Facebook Professors and students will benefit from: Extensive coverage of FTC privacy enforcement, HIPAA and HHS enforcement, standing in privacy lawsuits, among other topics. Chapters devoted exclusively to data security, national security, employment privacy, and education privacy. Sections on government surveillance and freedom to explore ideas. Extensive coverage of the NSA and the Snowden revelations and the ensuing regulation. Engaging approach to complicated laws and regulations such as HIPAA, FCRA, ECPA, GDPR, and CCPA.
Copyright ©2024 All rights reserved to Hamad Bin Khalifa University.
